We are searching data for your request:
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.
What vegans can't and what vegans can eat: difference between vegan and vegetarian, advice on food and recipes.
Therevegan dietcontemplates thefull abstentionfrom the use of meat and animal products. More than a diet, thatVeganit is considered a philosophy of life that focuses on complete respect for the animal kingdom, in all its forms.
A vegan, in fact, not only renounces the consumption of meat and ingredients of animal origin, a vegan also refuses to wear textile products that have seen the use of animal ingredients (clogs, silk, furs, fangs, skins, feathers ...) or the exploitation of animals.
What it means to be vegan
A follower of the vegan diet and philosophy is known asvegan.
The vegan food orpure vegetarian, is a person who chooses to abstain from certain foods (see paragraphwhat vegans can't eat).
The ethical vegan is a person who chooses to abstain from the consumption of meat and ingredients of animal origin and, in addition, chooses to avoid even products that have nothing to do with food such as:
- Drugs that, prior to launch, were tested on animal guinea pigs
- Cosmetics that for the formulation have seen in vivo tests on animal guinea pigs
- Clothing that uses skins, furs, goose feathers, clogs or any component of animal origin.
By the same logic, a vegan could never have a statuette carved in ivory at home!
Why become vegan?
Thereasonsthey are many. They range from political reasons to health reasons. There are those who choose to be vegan out of a deep respect for the animal kingdom and those who, instead, speak ofenvironmental veganism.
Beyond personal ideologies, theenvironmental veganismit has more than reason to exist. Environmental veganism aims to mass decrease the consumption of animal products on the premise that intensive farming damages the environment. It is an absolute and irrefutable truth that intensive farming damages the environment. For all the info:intensive farming and pollution.
What vegans can eat
THEvegansthey can feed on any food of plant origin. Here is a short list of vegan foods used in a typical weekly diet.
- Vegetable drinks like
- corn milk
- quinoa milk
- Spiced vegetable preparations, better known as vegetable burgers.
- wheat muscle
- soy yogurt ...
- Soya derivatives
- soybean butter
- soy ice cream
- soybean sprouts
- Classic derivatives of wheat
There vegan diet It's very interesting. By avoiding the consumption of meats, vegans open the doors to new flavors. In the life of acarnivorousit is difficult to find algae or legumes such as mung beans, while in the diet of a vegan these foods are the order of the day!
What vegans can't eat
The"Foods prohibited in the vegan diet"are all animal products, namely:
- Meat and fish
any type of meat
- Molluscs and crustaceans
- Milk and dairy products
- Royal jelly
What vegans can't eat? All substances derived from the processing of animal products.
Vegan diet, origins
Therevegan diethe's not that young. Many think that this is the latest trend in the food sector, but it is not. The vegan movement has very ancient origins. Just think that there was one of the first vegan exponentsAbul'Ala Al-Ma'arri, an Arab poet who lived between 973 and 1057 (died at 83). Don't be fooled by his origins, even though he was an Arab, AbuAla Al-Ma'arri had an irreligious view of the world.
Despite the antiquity of its origins, the termVeganit was only coined in 1944, by Donald Watson when he founded the Vegan Society in England.
Vegan diet and health
Therevegan dietit tends to be rich in folic acid, vitamin E, vitamin C, magnesium, iron and other phytothermal substances. It tends to be low in fat, cholesterol, omega 3 fatty acids, Vitamin D, calcium, zinc and Vitamin B12. An unbalanced vegan diet can cause serious nutritional deficiencies. There is no risk of shortages if thevegan dietit is followed wisely or in association with the occasional intake of food supplements.
Difference between vegans and vegetarians
In Italy, most vegetarians are typelacto-ovo, so the difference between these two diets is that the vegetarian can consume dairy products, eggs and honey, while the vegans forgo any food that involves the exploitation of animals.
The reading might be interesting: what vegetarians can eat
Here are some vegan recipes:
- Vegan sponge cake
- Tiramisu Vegan
- Vegan sacher cake