THEMES

Vegetable yeast extract

Vegetable yeast extract

Yeast extract, often present in many foods and if we are among those who read the label of what they buy, we know it well. It can be vegetable, but it is not mandatory that it is, it can be of quality, and it is good that it is.

Yeast extract: what it is

The presence ofYeast extract it is used to give flavor and enhance the taste of food, for which particularly high doses are not foreseen, indeed, they are usually minimal. We find it in sauces, broths, soups, ready-made meat dishes or savory snacks.

Mostly in Great Britain, we can also find yeast extract in the supermarket, in "loose" format, on the shelves, or as a cream because it is also used to spread it on slices of bread. In Italy this fashion has not yet arrived but never say never, who wants to try thel taste of yeast extract in this version you can get a package online.

Vegetable yeast extract

When it comes to vegetable yeast extract the extract is indicated which, despite having a flavor very similar to that of a meat broth, does not contain ingredients of animal origin. It can therefore also be safely eaten by vegetarians and vegans, it is valuable because it contains many vitamins, especially of group B (thiamin, riboflavin, niacin, folic acid), which is why it is also recommended in pregnancy.

To obtain the vegetable yeast extract, we start with the yeast that is used for produce beer, wine or bread and grow it with the addition of sugar. As time passes, enzymes break down proteins into smaller particles where they are nutritional and aromatic components which are separated from insoluble residues by centrifugation and dehydrated.

Yeast extract: is it bad?

There are some experts who believe that yeast extract is bad for you. One of those often accused of harmfulness is glutamate but to dateWorld Health Organization (WHO), the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) and the European Food Information Council they do not consider it particularly harmful.

Yeast extract: glutamate

We talked about this substance, let's get to know it better, since we can also find doses in fresh foods, such as tomatoes, peas or mushrooms. The yeast extract contains an average of 5 percent. Its taste is very particular, neither salty, nor sour, nor bitter. THE Japanese call "umami" this elusive flavor in words, which we can compare to that of broth, soy sauce and meat stew if not too spicy.

Yeast extract contains gluten

There are cases in which the yeast extract is obtained from different yeasts and in some types there is gluten. If you take the yeast for baking, no, but if you take that beer, yes, though under the legal limits set for gluten free products. There are studies that show how, in these quantities, yeast extract it does not cause problems for a person with celiac disease.

Yeast extract: marmite

This English word indicates a spread that was initially produced in the United Kingdom, then also in South Africa. There are also variants in Australia and New Zealand but all of them types of marmite in the world are to be spread on toast and are based on yeast extract, obtained from the brewing process.

Yeast extract composition

The yeast extract, if vegetable, is a mix of amino acids, carbohydrates, vitamins and minerals. We can taste its taste by purchasing a package without salt 340 grams online, on Amazon, for 15 euros.

If you liked this article keep following me also on Twitter, Facebook, Google+, Instagram

Related articles that may interest you:

  • Homemade natural yeast
  • How to replace yeast


Video: I Went Vegan For A Week Asian Recipes! (May 2021).